LAYERED

Flattened grass blog

I have a love/hate relationship with textures. Actually ‘hate’ is far too strong a word but there are times when I don’t reach for them too often when I’m processing my pics.

I know there are those who feel that any manipulation in post is not on, that even the slightest tweak in curves somehow pollutes a photograph and violates some sort of special photographer’s code but I’m not one of those. Obviously.

It’s all art at the end of the day so I think my decision to texture or not to texture, must come down to mood, to what is reflected in the natural world around me (tone and light) and in making judgement calls as I begin the process of layering beautiful scratches upon stains upon smudges onto my work.

Leave a Reply

