MISPLACED, NOT LOST

A little time offline can do strange things to a person.

In the two weeks I’ve been away, I’ve reignited a passion that I had all but lost and all because my mum had found a bag of my sketchbooks while she was clearing out her cellar. It felt truly bizarre to be looking through those books, I remembered them vividly yet, at the same time, I felt so disconnected to who that person was. I had forgotten her.

Generally, people say that what you loved doing as a child should act as a guide to your future career or calling and those books reminded me of what I loved most of all in my youth – words. Page after page of those sketchbooks are filled with my very amateurish attempts at calligraphy (so many fonts, so little time!) and fragments of first paragraphs for the book I dreamt of writing. Now, with 47 years of hindsight, I can hear echoes of my love of letters and words throughout my life but, despite so many reminders, I have just let them go.

So, to begin, I’m feeding that need to add a flourish to everything I write and have signed up for an online calligraphy course. I start today!

Calligraphy for blog

Leave a Reply

