SPRING X 2

Spring

Double exposures. I cannot get enough of them. So much so that I have my new Fuji XPro1 permanently on double exposure mode. The process of overlaying two images, one on top of the other, can be used to great artistic effect. It’s a great means of photographic storytelling and you don’t need to stop at two images, you can keep going to create one image from multiple exposures if your DSLR allows it.

In the case of a double exposure, I have found that I get a better outcome if the first image is quite dark. You can stop down the exposure or choose a subject in shadow. I then like to have a fairly bright second image and always work in live view mode so that I can see how best to align my two images.

I’m not too fussed about having a clutter-free background as I prefer my double and multiple exposures to be organic but that’s probably a plus for me in that I shoot mainly nature, trees and such like. If you are shooting portraits then you want that first image of the person to have as clean a background as possible so you have more focus on the silhouette of the subject.

Keep in mind that you don’t have to shoot a double exposure at the same time and you can simple keep one ‘on hold’ on the memory card and move to another location to shoot something else whenever you choose.

Leave a Reply

